How I Started My Tech Career

This is just a little story on how I get started in my Tech Career

Just like an Insect wandering around in a large room not knowing where it’s destination is on whether to hide at a place or rather look for it’s daily bread 🥴.

I don’t even know the direction of Life cos I only come to Ibadan because of the admission given to me by The Polytechnic, Ibadan and I didn’t even have a plan for myself and of course, I know nothing about the Course that is given to me 💁. The School that showed me shege right from my First year 🤦‍♂️ but I will never forget the gift it gave to me, which are the lovely Friends I met 🤭.

I hate programming, of course, I hate it to the core that I don’t like reading or writing Algorithm cos is very similar to programming. You see Courses like QBasic and most especially Java in the second half of my first year was a hell to me and Yes, its embarrassing to say this, but I score 41% in it 🥺.

To cut the long story short, luckily I met Bro Desmond who has plan for his future unlike me and he came to me one day telling me about learning Web Development with him or so. I was like Kilon jebe (What’s the meaning of that?) 🙄, I didn’t understand much about it but decided to follow him up which is the start of the turning point of how I think about my Life Career.

I don’t have System and I have to keep borrowing System anytime I got to where we wanna learn but it’s quite difficult for me to assimilate and am not the type that grab things quickly and yes, I always see it as What’s the meaning of all these rubbish? but I just keep on moving on all in the name of My friends are also doing it 🤤.

Kudos to Mr Timi that we used his place and Mr Tayo who is my first ever tutor in Tech. He was very happy to hear about me the last time we talk but it is not a talk for today 🤤.

I have to forfeit my learning in Tech during my Second Year and went for my I.T afterwards which i eventually got a System for myself and immediately I did, I gave a Call to my Mentor and he his also my Role Model of course that I want to be a Web Developer. He asked me to come to Ibadan which I did 2 Months later after the day I gave him a Call.

I got to Ibadan on 5th of January, 2020 and met him a Week later where he gave me a website to start learning from which I started from there and kept on learning everyday. This mentor of mine do check my work and correct me in some aspects I have an Issue with then, but it's also not a discussion for today. I put myself in some little projects which is part of what grew me to the little I know till date 😤

Due to my connections with my friends and not with my knowedge then, luckily, I'm part of the organizer for the first ever tech community called “Illuminator” at The Polytechnic, Ibadan in 2018 organized by my Role Model. I was able to see some Gurus in Tech which probably prompt my mind that I can also do something and that’s the First time I got to know that “Bro Oladeni Sodiq” is also into Tech 🙃

It got to a stage, I learned WordPress from a lovely Boss of mine “Mr Omotoso Yusuf” 🙌 and I created my first Live Website with it where I do write article for people to read and learn from. I was pretty good with CSS and Vannilla JavaScript then and probably till now 😋

A Year later, I got a Job at 234Web Resources where I started editing templates and putting it live on Server and am able to embed a pop-up calculator to one of their Website for easy calculation of goods sold. I eventually left there to meet my Sweetest boss 😇, the person of “Bro Adedigba Alli” 🙇‍♀️ to start the Journey of me being a Backend Developer till date

Isn’t it Lovely? 😌

What I can learn from how I started my Tech is that, we should always have the bigger picture of where we want to be and what we wanna become and never and ever stop learning no matter the hurdle or challenges you will face when learning 😥

Yes, you may be thinking that you can't reach the level of those big programmers you are looking at the top but..... just try taking 2 hours of your day and learn for straight 100 days and look at the level you will eventually find yourself later on 😉

Lemme just share this lovely Quote with you "Life is not Easy, there are many thorns, Patholes and unimaginable number of Experiences but reaching your Life Goals should be your focus!!!"

Don't you wanna know the name of my Mentor and also a Role Model for me is? 😎, you will know about him in my next Article probably 🖖

My Second Role Model is "Sundar Pichai". I just love that Man 🙃

Article on ‘My Struggle in Tech’ coming soon……… which you will know most things about my small self in Tech 🥴

My Humble self Fuskydon 🙂